Oil SPCC Plans for Non-Industrial Facilities Part 2: Types of Plans

If applicable, a facility must develop and implement one of three types of plans. Two of the plan types (Tier 1 and Tier 2 plans) can be self-certified by an owner/operator.

  1. If a facility had no single oil discharge greater than 1,000 gallons or no two discharges each greater than 42 gallons within any 12 months over three years AND no more than 10,000 gallons of aboveground storage and use, it qualifies for a Tier 2 plan.
  2. If a facility qualifies for Tier 2 AND has no single container or tank greater than 5,000 gallons, the Tier 1 plan applies. (USEPA includes a template for a Tier 1 Plan in Appendix G of 40 CFR 112.)

If a facility does not qualify for either Tier 1 or Tier 2 plan, then the plan must be certified by a Professional Engineer (P.E.).

No matter which type is created, an Oil SPCC Plan must include the following required components:

  • Facility and site drainage
  • Area map showing drainage around facility
  • Certification statement
  • Oil storage and usage description
  • Containment and secondary containment
  • Spill control and response
  • Inspections
  • Testing and tank integrity testing
  • Recordkeeping
  • Personnel training
  • Site security
  • Emergency procedures and notifications
  • Contact lists
  • Record of plan review and amendments

When creating a SPCC Plan, keep in mind that the development of an action plan, including completion dates, is needed and valuable for implementation.

A robust and practical Oil SPCC Plan is essential to protect the environment from the oils you use and store on your site as well as comply with USEPA regulations. Contact Hixson to learn more about 40 CFR 112.


Oil SPCC Plans for Non-Industrial Facilities Part 1: Compliance

Oil SPCC Tank Integrity Testing


Comments are closed.