“WELL” Versed Part 2: Certification and the WELL Building Standard

COVID-19 has caused building and business owners to consider what constitutes a healthy workplace. Because of that, many are looking to the WELL Building Standard as a guide.

Last week, we introduced the WELL Building Standard and the differences between the original Version and the current version (Version 2) of the standard.  As mentioned, these changes have made the standard much more achievable for more projects than was possible in the past. In today’s post, let’s look at how certification is achieved.

To become certified under Version 2, projects must achieve a number of points, while meeting a number of Preconditions (i.e., mandatory features required to achieve WELL certification).  Points are attained through Optimizations (i.e., optional features), and are weighted based on health impact that the Optimization provides.  (See the previous post for more on Preconditions and Optimizations.) WELL Version 2 provides 23 Preconditions and offers 110 possible points throughout the 10 Concepts and potential Project Innovations.  Projects must earn a minimum of 2 points, and not more than 12 points, per Concept.

Certification levels are as follows:

  • WELL Silver Certification: 50 points
  • WELL Gold Certification: 60 points
  • WELL Platinum Certification: 80 points

Watch for future posts in which we’ll take a look at the 10 WELL Building Standard Concepts in greater detail.  In the meantime, visit https://v2.wellcertified.com/v2.1/en/overview for more information about the Standard, including costs associated with certification, or contact Hixson.


Are you “WELL” Versed? Take A(nother) Look at the WELL Building Standard

WELL Stats


Comments are closed.